46 comments on “Comment! Please…?

  1. Shameful >__> I mean, my site got pretty low views and not too many comments during the 5 month period. Though interestingly, views shot up during the summer, where I was…most active 😀

    • I’m not proud of this, but sometimes you’ve got to step outside of your comfort-zone in order to improve yourself, ya’ know?

      Hmm, but I’d say I’m already pretty active, posting twice a week, if not more…

      • Sorry to have kept you waiting, but as I said to you on Twitter, sometimes my work schedule does not allow for me to spend much, if any, time on my laptop. I am heading off to uni in a couple of months, so need to work as much as possible before then in order to be able to afford to live.

  2. Yo, Ty-chama! I went ahead and added you on Twitter and on MAL so I have a few different ways to keep connected with you 🙂 I do completely understand, though, the hunger for comments. Even though I write for myself, it’s still nice to interact with others and feel like what I’m doing is somehow relevant. All I can say is to hang in there and use your frustration to fuel your writing; take even more care and try to write the best that you can.

    Also, I tend to avoid writing episodic posts myself since I noticed that they often don’t receive many comments. But as episodic posts comprise the majority of your blog, perhaps you can consider trying to join a team blog to gain publicity for yourself? I know when Guardian Enzo started over at RandomC, the traffic at his own blog picked up significantly.

    • And just as a bit of advice: looking through some of your posts with comments, it looks like you don’t very often REPLY to others’ comments. This is one of the best ways of keeping loyal readers and generating further discussion. I always go out of my way to reply to almost every single comment, even if it’s just a simple “Thank you”.

      • Really? I don’t often reply? I thought that happened only occasionally…
        I’ll make a conscious effort to reply to each and every one of my comments from now on- gosh, I must have seemed so rude to the people I failed to respond to…
        Thank-you for drawing this to my attention!

    • There is a certain satisfaction to be had from steadily increasing the number of posts on your blog and developing your skills of writing and exploration, but comments really are the cherry on the cake, are they not?

      I don’t know if I could handle working at somebody else’s pace! I don’t know if you already know this, but ‘Watashi wa bucho’ roughly translates into ‘I am boss’, the name of my blog indicates my preference to do things my own way! I’d love to be able to take part in more projects or some collaboration posts at some point though…

  3. I’ve noticed that in general, how many comments you get depends heavily on what series you discuss, since not many people will have anything to say about a show they know nothing about. Lots of us go through this problem, or at least the bloggers I know have it.

    On an unrelated note, that list of similes reminds me of similar lists from Zetsubou-Sensei.

    • So you reckon the more popular a show, the more comments I’ll get? That makes sense…

      Huh, you’re right… It is like one of those! ‘cept where Zetsubou-sensei is cynical and satirical, I’m nerdy and kind of pathetic…

  4. Hi, I’ve just found your blog through animenano and this post. I’ve had a blog for what seems like forever and a half (nearly 5 years), and within the first year, I barely got any comments. Though, I steadily grew a bigger and bigger audience, and I felt like maybe I can give out some pointers. Sorry if you don’t want it..

    I took a look around your site, and I actually like your content quite a lot. Your episodic posts are really well done. Though, maybe a few editorials every now and again could be nice. One thing you need to do is comment back on every comment you get. It doesn’t exactly encourage discussion if you don’t reply back to someone’s comment on your own post. Also, comment at as many blogs as you can and get your name/site out there! Lately, I’ve found that twitter is best place to both meet new bloggers, advertise your own blog, and just have some fun conversations. You seem to have that twitter aspect covered, but try following more people on twitter as well.

    With all that said, I decided to go ahead and follow you on twitter and add your blog to my google reader. From here on in you can count me as a new reader, as well as someone who hopes to have some interesting/fun discussions with you on twitter! ^_^

    • No, no, I always welcome the advice of other’s- it’d be foolish of me to turn it down when it’s coming from such a knowledgeable source!! Wow, 5 years of blogging! Now that’s an impressive figure!

      Now that I’m blogging just the one show instead of two I plan to write up and post more editorials. It’s just, I wouldn’t have been able to do two episodic posts a week, plus an editorial, whilst still at college- it would’ve pushed me over the metaphorical edge!!

      I have looked around for blogs to comment on in order to get my name out there in the past, and found some really great blogs in doing so! I guess it’s just a matter of continuing to do that, huh? I’ll also be sure to reply to every single one of my comments, even if it is just to say a simple ‘Thank-you’ as Marina suggested!

      Thank-you so much for your advice, for adding my blog to your Google reader, and for following me on Twitter. I’ll be sure to check out your blog as soon as I’ve got my laptop back (I’m using the ‘rents laptop, which is going on 6 years old now, needless to say, I’ve been having some issues with it!)

  5. Ty, try not to worry too much about it. Five months is a long time, but then again, it isn’t. I was certainly in the same boat as you at that time. And now, even though I don’t typically get a lot of comments for each post I write, I would say my site regularly receives comments. It takes times to build an audience and even longer to understand and engage them.

      • That’s a good question. Even now, my writing and the our blog is still evolving and changing character. I’ve always had a mission and a theme in mind, but revisions to that occur as well. And honestly, I feel I really hit my stride, in terms of audience, writing, and most other ways, when the blog was about 15 months old.

      • But I guess when you feel as though you’ve hit your stride in regards to blogging is something that varies from person to person…

        I’m still looking for my own little blogging niche, something only I can provide readers with (like the theme of Beneath the Tangles), but I have faith that it’ll come to me over time as I gain experience and find out what works and what doesn’t…

  6. Enjoyed your Hell Girl reference. A much ignored series.

    I suspect that your blog may just be off the beaten track in terms of linking from other blogs – often I went by the links list in, say, Random Curiosity. Arranging some cross-linking with some of the more popular ones like Random Curiosity, Star Crossed Anime Blog, or the (British, I think) Hanners’ Anime Blog might help, though I don’t know if they go for that.

    A second possible reason is that your posts are detailed and more than just short reviews. This requires more effort for a casual reader to digest and comment on besides “good post” though of course it would be polite to say that. This is not a bad thing, but i suspect that if you had, say two paragraphs on six anime instead of six paragraphs each on two anime, you might increase traffic. Whether you would still have interest in writing that sort of thing or would stand out if doing so is another issue (:

    Several larger high traffic anime blogs also “cheat” by being Team blogs which allows for more coverage. Or break up the more detailed analysis with briefer opinion pieces such as micro reviews of new shows as a season begins.

    Another possible reason for less commenting may be your coverage of a small number of series you cover; that limits the interest of any random person, rather naturally if they haven’t watched the series or heard of it they may have less interest in the post.

    I stumbled on it by accident while searching for Mysterious Girlfriend X reviews late in the series, and found you had the best ones – but it wasn’t until episode 11 or so of that show.

    • A shame when it is only the last series of Hell Girl that deserves to be ignored…

      Oh goodness me, I don’t think I could ever write less about more instead of writing more about less- I’m an English Lit student you see, and in that topic we are trained to write about just a couple of things in detail rather than many things briefly in order to access top marks, this is something which seems to have translated to my blogging style! It would be very difficult to change that habit at this stage, I think!

      I plan to write more editorials in the future, so as a result, I should cover more series over time…

      I’m glad you enjoyed my Nazo no Kanojo X posts, and very glad that you thought they were the best! : 3

      • English lit – well, that’s a good reason! I did two years of English lit before switching to history (I loved both, but the history department had better teachers… hah, but after graduating, what did I do but get a job writing about anime. Should have stayed with English lit…., ah the irony of it all). But I did enjoy your detailed essay-style, so don’t change it if you’re comfortable writing that way.

      • You write about anime, and get paid to do so!? Man, you are one lucky guy!

        I write for myself as much as I write for others, and I just know that changing my writing style would make what I do practically loathsome, so I’m not up for that…

  7. The reason I don’t comment is that you do episodics. There is nothing wrong with that, you do have a great style of writing (and for the love of god, don’t change it), but when you only cover one or two series, there is a big chance of alienating readers who don’t watch the shows! That’s why team blogs are a good way to avoid this problem, as a whole load of shows are covered, making the blog a place for everyone.

    Now, I’m not really sure that’s the way to go. I could do paragraph after paragraph while speculating about stats, comments and how you evolve your blog, but since you probably want something concrete without changing the heart of your blog, I can say this:

    – Spice it up with more editorials.
    – Ask another blogger if you could post your own coverage on one series on their blog (while still posting on your own, of course).
    – Why not try doing some collaboration posts?

    Those are the more obvious ways. Then we have other, more subtle, ways to gain readership:

    – Comment on other blogs.
    – Reply to comments on your own blog.
    – Comment on forums.
    – Blogrolls. (but don’t exchange a ton just because you can)
    – Use Twitter, make yourself known.
    – Anime Nano. (but you seem to have that. I’d recommend getting a picture for your blog though!)

    Then we have these, though I doubt they’re for you:

    – Simply join another blog.
    – Cover a lot of more shows. (more people reading, more hits in image search) (season previews/reviews tend to be popular)

    To round this off, the way you name your posts can be important. “Nazo no Kanojo X episode 10 – Finger Lickin’ Good” (Catch the reference :]) is more inviting than “Nazo no Kanojo X episode 10”. Besides just being more inviting to click, it can also be easier to find on Google. If you want to be crazy about it, naming pictures in a good way can result in higher traffic from Google Image Search~

    … I SAID I WOULD KEEP IT EASY

    • It makes sense, I don’t get many comments because few people are watching the shows I’m writing about, but then why are there so many episodic blogs out there with, what seems like, hordes of readers who regularly comment? Do you think that they simply built up their army of regular readers using the methods you described before delving into episodic blogging?

      I plan to write up and post more editorials now that I’m only blogging just the one show, but as for one of your other two pointers, do you know anyone who’d be willing to let me post my episodic posts on their blog? That seems to me to be an excellent idea!!

      I’ll get better at replying… I swear!! Everyone seems to have pointed that out, but I honestly thought I wasn’t that bad… >.<

      Yeah, you’re bang on the money there! I’d be thrilled to do some collaboration posts sometime, but I don’t think the control freak within me would be happy in following the pace of somebody else- the title of my blog itself is an indicator of that! As for covering more shows, I’d love to, but I simply don’t have the time to on top of college (soon to be uni, hopefully), my part-time job, and family commitments.

      Finger licking good!? Oh God, that’s genius! I definitely see your point! I would read a post titled like that regardless of whether or not I’m watching the show!

      Thank-you ever so much for the valuable advice! I can’t believe you’re this much more adept at blogging than I am with only a 5 month head-start! I’m definitely going to have to up my game! ; p

      • I generally like to analyze stuff, so when it’s regarding something I like, I can see things like this~ Wouldn’t call myself more adept, really. 😛

        Regarding what you say about hordes of readers, I actually don’t see that. The blogs who do have a lot of readers, or rather commentators, are usually episodic ones with a lot of shows covered. The only blog without constant updates that is very popular, from what I can remember at the moment, is The Cart Driver (though, this seems to be changing with the new writers).

      • Heh, heh, embarrassing confession time… I was actually basing that statement off of The Cart Driver’s visible popularity…

  8. Hmm…Yeah, the whole episodic thing is something of an issue for me, just because I typically only read them if I’m *very* interested in the show, or if the post seems to do something I hadn’t caught onto in the least (which is why the subtitles Marow mentioned could be a good idea). But I think the bigger reason I don’t comment more is time.

    When I read blogs, I want to give them my full attention, so if I don’t have enough time to really concentrate on a post, I don’t read it, because that would be unfair. But that’s nothing compared to commenting. When I comment, as much as I would like to just say “Yeah I read your post, goodbye.” my conscious as a blogger who knows how much discussion means won’t allow me to comment without *adding* something to the post, no matter how little. And, well, thinking up meaningful discussion takes a lot of time, at least for me. Sometimes I have to spend almost twice as much time thinking of how I’ll respond to a post as I did reading it. So basically, I need the time to read, the time to *think* about what I’ll say (a much bigger time investment), and the time & focus to actually write it.

    The other part of the time/commenting conundrum is what I guess I’ll call “adaption time.” I’m personally quite slow to pick up new blogs, though I’m not really all that picky. For example, I first saw you on Ace’s blog a while ago. I remembered your name for later and moved on. A few weeks later, I stopped by and read some posts that immediately interested me. Then I left and started checking back sporadically. All I’m trying to say here is that picking up even readers can take a long time. And considering how large the gap between reader and commenter is, the time it takes to get a group of regular commenters can take a (comparatively) HUGE amount of time.

    I totally get where you’re coming from though. Some of my favorite posts have few views and no comments and it makes me a little sad. And, my apologies for not commenting myself. I’m definitely interested in what you have to say (after all, you like Mushishi, Kino’s Journey, and Baccano!), so I should probably stop lurking so much…

    Anyway, don’t lose heart! Persistence & time are blogger’s greatest allies!
    P.S. Gyarados isn’t worth the time and effort necessary to level up Magikarp 19 times. It’s sad but true. 😉

    • I always try to pick out the less obvious details in each episode of the shows I blog, so feel free to check them out sometime! ‘scuse the shameless plug!

      I totally know what you mean. Whenever I read an intelligent post and see how well all the other commenters have added to the topic broached by it, I feel obligated to add something intelligent myself, something I don’t always have time to do! The same goes for responding to comments- the more intelligent a comment, the more daunting I find it to reply to- I don’t want to sound like an idiot in front of my audience! I guess it’s just something I’m going to have to get over if I want to be a successful blogger…

      Of course, how long a blogger and their whole host of commenters have been around also factors- I’m less likely to comment the more established a blogger is simply because I am (don’t laugh!) slightly intimidated by them and their blogging prowess, so in order to prevent this ever happening to anyone looking at my blog (though I can’t imagine this’d be the case currently) I’m just going to have to be as welcoming, and as friendly (without being creepy), as possible!

      Thank-you for the insight! I’ll be sure to disregard any kind of “adaptation time” and check out your blog as soon as possible!

      PS: Gyarados is sick, don’t dis.

      PPS: Can Magikarp learn Hydro Pump? I’m thinking of firing up the ol’ Leaf Green Version, levelling up a Magikarp to level 100 and then just owning everyone with it!

      PPS: I think I have too much time on my hands if I’m considering that ^^

      • Shameless plugs for the win! Honestly, though, I guess that was most directed towards you Nazo no Kanojo X posts. I watched the show in chunks, so I either found your posts before I watched the episode (in which case I avoided them for spoilers), or well after (in which case I didn’t want to relive the uncomfortableness of the series… -_-‘). I’ve actually been reading your Binbougami Ga! posts and enjoying them, though, so don’t put too much importance on the episodics thing. It’s definitely a minor issue, though I am interested in what editorials you’d write.

        There are a lot of people who feel intimidated by more established bloggers, myself included. I also feel out of place if there’s a big group of regular commenters that I’m not a part of…I feel like a stranger who walks into a party and makes a fool of themselves at the door.

        I’m honored, hope you find something you enjoy!

        P.S. Fine, fine. I have no clue if it can, it’s been too long. That does remind me that it’s been forever since I’ve played that game…

      • I’m relieved to hear someone’s reading (and enjoying) my Binbougami-ga! posts- I’m finding them incredibly difficult to write (as my latest editorial may have indicated), but hearing someone’s reading them makes the pain slightly more bearable! -_-‘

        You’ve captured the feeling perfectly: like walking into a party you’re not invited to… Well, you’re always welcome to my (rather low-key) parties- I’d be chuffed to see you comment every so often and add your point of view!

  9. Pingback: I Like Your Blog Post! And Your Facebook Comment. And Your Tweet. And… «

  10. I know how that is – I hit my low point for my blog this month when I tried to do a ‘reader’s choice’ on reviews. Four submissions is, for me, an incredibly low number for the amount of responses I had when I was doing the giveaways. I rarely get comments, either. But I still blog because there are things about series that I like and want to share, so…. *shrug* But I also have to second that it also depends no the series. I got constant comments and encouragement when I was watching NGE since it’s such a well-known classic, and I imagine it will be much the same when I start Code Geass.

    • Oh gosh, now I feel scummy- I’ll be sure to check out your blog ASAP!! I like your attitude though! Don’t give up, keep sharing your views with the world! Ultimately it doesn’t matter whether or not we have hordes of commenters, just to know a handful of people care about what it is we’ve got to say makes it worth it, don’t you think? And if you can take enjoyment from what you do without ‘em, trillions of commenters that is, our time isn’t wasted at the end of the day!

      • Oh, there’s no need to do that! ^.^ My Reader’s Choice was over last weekend, and thinking back on it, that I got any replies at all is a step up from pervious ones.

        PS- I know I don’t reply to you episode-by-episode posts, usually because I’m not watching the shows you blog on, but I adore your comentaries and definitely do my best to reply to them!

      • No, no, I’m about to give your site a little browse as we speak, not to make you nervous or anything… >.>

        Why, thank-you very much! Your support is greatly appreciated, I mean it! Especially as it looked as though I wasn’t going to get it and that I’d accidentally made myself an enemy over that Chobits post all those months ago!

      • Ah, man, that post was AGES ago! xD Even if I was minorly upset over that (and somewhat wrongly), most of your posts are pretty in-line with how I feel about series and you have great opinions that have solid back-up. I’ve even come to think about a few things differently when you posted a commentary on it. I definitely think you have a great blog!

      • I remember things like that *shrug* I can come across as being arrogant sometimes, but honestly, I don’t like to upset people if I can help it…

        That makes me incredibly happy, to know what I have to say matters to someone, thank-you very much! So, out of curiosity, what have I changed your mind about? : D

      • The smart answer? Doing editorials in the first place (I’ve actually been inspired enough by a recent show I’ve watched to write one for this coming Saturday). But the first serious answer that comes to mind is how I feel about the Death Note anime (from your Remembering Love series) – I forget how much I like the first half of the series. And your post on being an ‘oldfag’, as I believe you termed yourself, opened my mind up a bit more to watching older series – I read it before I’d really started exploring the older classics and was wondering on whether I should bother because of how many newer shows there were. At the very least, I feel you provide a new and interesting perspective on anime that I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

