7 comments on ““It’s good, but it’s not that good…” Over-hype- the silent killer

  1. Hype can definitely ruin one’s viewing experience. Haruhi is a good example for many. I’d heard such great things about it, that I was sorely disappointed when I couldn’t make it through the first episode (the student movie project one). But then, the reverse happened for me – I disliked the portion I’d seen so much, that when I returned, I was super delighted with the series. It’s now among the few to which I’ve given a rating of “10.”

    Luckily, I don’t feel the “over-hype” so much for anime, I think because I’ve found that we all have such disparate opinions. I go into any show with a pretty open mind, even if that show has receive great (or on the opposite end of the spectrum, terrible) reviews. For me, it’s different from film, where I’ve felt that stinging disappointment (sometimes self-inflicted) dozens and dozens of times.

    • Wow, what made you change your mind about the series to the extent you did? I don’t think I’ve ever had a complete and utter overhaul of opinion about a show like that!

      Anyway…

      I think if we all went into shows with an open mind, trying to avoid making assumptions about it beforehand, we’d all enjoy watching shows a lot more! But is that really possible? How can one prevent themselves from making first impressions based on synopses they’ve read or artwork they’ve seen when it’s almost a mental reflex? I myself struggle not to be at all influenced by the opinion of others, which is why I’m so profoundly affected by over-hype.

      • Well, luckily, I had only seen that one episode. I didn’t “get” Haruhi, so when I I tried the show and got to the real first episode, I could enjoy it.

        Yeah, I know what you’re saying. We live in a such an interconnected time, that there is so much information (and so many opinions) about everything out there! For me, I jump into the opening episodes of a season mostly based on my reading of summaries rather than others’ opinions. Thus, I’m able to develop a pretty unbiased opinion at first.

  2. Hype has kept me from watching a lot of shows that I might otherwise give a shot, from NGE to K-On!. I’m actually a little terrified of watching Code Geass because it’s what all the newbies come in raving about! I’m glad I don’t get on the bandwagon right away for most things – I wait until the halfway point for shows that are airing and then make a decision based on the bad and good things people say about a show – but when a show’s been established for a few years I do feel like there’s a good chance that the show has earned the reputation it has.

    (But you’re not alone in disliking Haruhi. She’s a miserable, selfish person.)

    • Another reason I tend to avoid shows generating a lot of hype is that I believe, perhaps inaccurately, that those willing to point out the show in question’s flaws choose not to for fear of being torn apart by its rabid fans- for let’s face it, there are some people who take their love of a show to scary levels! Therefore, you cannot trust the fact there is little negative criticism surrounding an over-hyped show- perhaps it’s more an indication of its would-be critics’ fear than its lack of flaws! Eurgh… What I’m trying to get at is that your preference to wait for over-hype to die down somewhat is probably best!

      Oh good, so it’s not just me that dislikes Haruhi then!

  3. Over-Hype is something I’ve grown very leery of. And it’s definitely tainted my viewings of shows before. The big one for me recently was when I finally saw “Madoka Magica” a few months ago. More than one person had raved about it and how brilliant and revolutionary and genre redefining it was, and that put my expectations so high that I was completely underwhelmed it. Because it failed to be the Citizen Kane of anime that people were making it out to be, I was incredibly disappointed when it turned out to be “just” an interesting, very well written and well made series. It was only looking back on it that I realized that I was judging it far too harshly, based not on the show itself but on the impossible-to-live-up-to word of mouth that had attached itself to it.

    On the flip side, over-hype was the only thing that made me sit through “Code Geass.” It should have been incredibly apparent to me within about 10 episodes that I really, really wasn’t going to like that show, but I kept saying to myself “apparently this show is ‘totes amazeballs,’ so I’m sure it’ll hook me soon.” And then the end of the first season came, and I wanted to throw my remote through the television to punish it for tricking me into sitting through 26 episodes of that… show 😉 (eventually I watched season 2, but more out of morbid curiosity than actual interest in it).

    The complete over-hyping of new things is a large part of why I almost always don’t watch new shows. That, and the fact that there’s so much old stuff that I want to see that I just don’t have the time to watch the new stuff as it’s coming out.

    It was somewhat amusing when, not too long ago, I stumbled upon a letter from 2008 that some site had written, somewhat vaguely threatening movie critics who had dared to call “The Dark Knight” anything less than the greatest movie of our lifetimes. After all, the letter claimed, TDK had “changed filmmaking forever!” (that’s a direct quote), and anyone who failed to recognize that fact was clearly unfit to have their opinions beheld by the public. Now I like that movie just fine (I own a copy of the DVD, even), but that’s a perfect snapshot of how the buzz around something can be so overpowering that it distorts the perception of something. After all this letter was written only a few months after the movie had been in theaters, and therefore exactly ZERO movies that TDK apparently inspired with it’s revolutionary redefinition of all things cinema would have even existed at the time, making the claim that it had changed filmmaking forever a wee bit suspect.

    So after that mini-rant… I’ve lurked around here a bit, but I think this is the first time I’ve commented on your blog. So let me just say I’ve enjoyed reading it.

  4. Pingback: A year of Watashi wa bucho!! « Watashi wa bucho!!

Leave a Reply

